Don’t tell me how to Twitter!!!

Ok, here’s the thing. It’s a New Year, (Happy New Year, btw) And we should be moving forward, however, over the past couple of weeks, as I’ve immersed myself in all things Twitter, I’m noticing an alarming trend: People are telling me either, how to use it, or what it is, OR, more likely, a combination.

I’ll let you in on a little secret: They’re all wrong.

Why, you ask? Or, even if you didn’t, I’m going to tell you anyway….

Twitter is, Twitter!!!

That’s right.

I could end my sermon here, but  as I fear the likely comment storm, I’ll elaborate: It’s a tool. It does a few things very well, but ultimately, it’s your choice how to use it. Not mine, or anyone else’s. Don’t be influenced by the so called Social Media Influencers. And who decided who they are, anyway? And, who are the they that decided who they are? See, these are questions that I don’t have the answer to, and furthermore, I shouldn’t need to ask them.

Now, I could make this entry all pretty, and dress it with links, etc. However, I’m not going to do that. Stay, leave a comment, and maybe you’ll come back tomorrow.

That’s my, Random Rant. Happy New Year!!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One response to “Don’t tell me how to Twitter!!!

  1. I agree wholeheartedly! When I was new, some guy tried to tell me I was using Twitter wrong and that it wasn’t supposed to use Twitter as an instant messenger program and I was flooding everyone with tweets. Looking back, I’m like well hello… if it offends you that much, you can change something in your settings so that you don’t receive anyone else’s conversations. http://help.twitter.com/forums/23786/entries/14595 Either that or remove me from your following list. Anyway, good riddance to that guy and anyone else who feels the need to dictate how we are supposed to use our own Twitters. It’s really quite simple… Don’t like it, don’t follow. *gets off her soapbox*

Leave a Reply

