Anyone Can Make a Movie!!!

I tweeted that earlier today.  Figured I should elaborate.

Guy Kawasaki recently gave an interview where he said entry into your field is either free or cheap. Of course, he was talking about technology startups, however, the same goes for movies. Anyone that’s seen or even heard of the ‘Fred’ movie on Nickelodeon can attest to this. He came up with a gimmick, and ran with it.

Of course, for every Fred out there, there’s also a Tom, Dick, or Harry trying to do the same thing. And as we know, Sturgeon’s Law, not to mention The Law!!! itself, is in full force. Shields’ Corollary: It’s Recursive.  And everything is relative. Just ask my in laws.

There are several sites out there, even one or two of mine, that will tell you how to make a movie. Several more will tell you how to make it ‘good.’ Well, that’s all fine and dandy, however, since NOBODY KNOWS ANYTHING, as Sir William of Goldman will attest, how do we know who to listen to?

And of course, as with anything else, there are gatekeepers out there, giving you the go ahead, or in this business, not to be confused with, the industry, the proverbial greenlight. And, it’s easier to say no.  Why take a risk, when you don’t have to?

Have I asked too many questions without answering them already? Was that last one rhetorical? I’m starting to sound like the narrator on the old Batman TV series. I almost said, “Tune in tomorrow, same Bat-Time, same Bat-Channel!!!”

Ok, time for some seriousness on this so called comedy blog. If you’ve decided that you want to make a movie, then go ahead and do it. Life is, after all, a Nike commercial. Don’t spend the $40K plus whatever it would take to goto film school, the only reason to attend one of those is for the networking, and we’ve talked about this before, elsewhere. Spend the money making a movie!!! Don’t know how? Well, you can goto Ten Minute Film School, or you can buy this book that I recommend, and get about a quarter from if you buy it from this link. Or, you can do both.

I once attended a seminar where they told me that my first film would be bad, and be willing to make mistakes. Of course, that’s all subjective, simply because the first film I ever made, was never distributed, and the dogs I made it for, and of, liked it. The first film I Co-Produced won Best Picture at the festival it was in. And here we are, almost seven, well, six actual years later, still plugging away, making short films.

Which either proves my thesis, or doesn’t depending on whether or not you like them. You can see two of them right now free, until I take them down and start selling them.

In any case, if you’ve ever watched a movie, and said to yourself, “I can do better!” Then by all means, go ahead and do that. Don’t let me stop you. At the same time, I reserve the right to let you know that it does indeed, suck.

Adjust your expectations accordingly.

Oh, and leave a comment, and let me know that I’m doing it wrong.

 

One response to “Anyone Can Make a Movie!!!

  1. Pingback: I’ve Said It Before… | My 168 Project

Leave a Reply

