Ok, It’s Here. Now What?

Once upon a time, there were three little girls, and they all went to the police academy….

No, wait. Wasn’t going to talk about the remake of Charlie’s Angels for TV on this post, so, that will have to wait. Simply because, if you’ve been hiding under a rock, or a various other sundry device, you might not know that Apple launched the, wait for it, iPad.

Now, I’m sure you’ve heard most if not all of the appropriate and even inappropriate feminine hygiene product jokes related to the name choice, so, I won’t repeat any here. Simply because, I’m attempting to make a word count, and I only found really three of them funny.

So, there’s this thing, that’s not a smartphone, and not a netbook, according to Steve Jobs. I’d refer to him as my good friend, however, we’ve never met. Otherwise, we’d be great friends, as I gave him his ‘Get a Mac.’ campaign….

Oh, I’m really only posting here, because I couldn’t comment on iJustine‘s blog. Sad, really. Had a really great and witty comment to go there. Of course this way, I get to write more, and less people will read it, so, win/win.

The iPad does some things really well, and others, not so much. Complaints rapidly tweeted after all the hoopla died down. Where does hoopla go to die, anyway?

So, having only seen the live blog updates, and not actually getting to touch one, let alone demo it, I offer the following observations, in no particular order:

  • Too big to fit in your pocket.
  • Very thin.
  • Lightweight.
  • Competitively Priced, although
  • According to Steve, no other devices like it.

There are those of you that are referred to out there as ‘early adapters.’ I used to be one of these, but then I realized something. They picked a launch date, and then met that schedule. Probably why there are some features conspicuously “missing.”

Waiting for the second generation might be the bigger better deal. Or, this thing might go the way of the Newton, who knows? All I can tell you is simply this: The Law!!! is bound to kick in. And of course, I’m hoping for a Super Bowl commercial to rival that of 1984. It’s not too late, they could conceptually ask me to create one for them.

So, to review, the Apple Tablet is announced.

Of course, you can’t get one yet, as, it’s not available ’til March.

72 and sunny in Redondo Beach.

Adjust your expectations accordingly.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

